Steps on how to help your user cancel their subscription auto-renewal

If a user would like to cancel their subscription auto-renewal, they can select the Cancel option under Manage Subscription/Donation within the plugin menu. This will opt the user out of any future renewals and their account will remain active through the end of the current billing cycle.

Canceling a user's subscription immediately from the Pico Dashboard

If you'd like to cancel a user's subscription immediately, you can do so through the Pico Dashboard under the Contacts page here:

https://dashboard.trypico.com/contacts

On the Contacts page, search for the specific user using the search bar and then open the contact record by selecting it. You'll then be brought to the contact's page where you can make modifications to their subscription here:

Canceling a subscription here is most common for cases of full refunds where you immediately want to revoke access.

Once you select "Cancel subscription plan..." you will see the following prompt:

From here, you can choose to cancel their subscription immediately or at the end of the billing period. You can also issue a refund for the purchase at this screen as well. Canceling the subscription will send a notification that their subscription has been canceled.

Recapturing cancellations with Mailchimp Campaigns

If you wish to create a campaign to try to recapture these cancellations through Mailchimp, we recommend setting up an automated email campaign targeting readers with a value in the Membership End field and a value in the Tier field. This means the reader has canceled and made their final payment but has not yet reached the end of their final billing cycle.

You can create campaigns in Mailchimp based around the payment interval (monthly, yearly, etc.) to send them an email a few days before the end of the final billing period.

Did this answer your question?