How to provide free access to a user with the whitelist feature.

Sometimes you'll need or want to provide a user with free access to your site. You can do this with the whitelist user feature in the CRM.
Note: Users will need to be previously registered to your site on the front-end or be created through a migration. Pico does not support adding individual emails directly through the dashboard.

To whitelist a user bring up their record in the CRM, click the options menu (three dots) in the top right and click 'Add to whitelist'.


Next, from the dropdown menu, choose the monetization and tier of the subscription you want to give that user free access to. Then select the start and end dates for the whitelist.  Save the changes by clicking 'Add to whitelist'.

If the tier option doesn't show up for a user, try reloading the user's profile or refreshing the page.  Sometimes it takes a few seconds for the whitelist option to show in the menu or it can error on the first attempt to load the page.

Changing previously whitelisted status for a user:

Users cannot be added to a whitelist if they are already associated to a plan. This includes whitelists and paid plans. If you would like to change an already whitelisted user to another plan, first remove their whitelist status then re-add the user to the new whitelisted plan.

Managing Whitelisted Users in Mailchimp

If you are filtering users in Mailchimp by Membership status and want to make sure that users added to a whitelist get the same benefits of paying members, the process is similar. Users on whitelist will have a "membership" merge field value of "Whitelisted User" so this can be added to any segmentation rules. The tier value will match whatever plan they were associated to when whitelisted.

Did this answer your question?